College of Paediatrics & Child Health, Singapore (CPCHS), Singapore Paediatric Society (SPS) and Perinatal Society of Singapore (PSS) jointly organised the 4th Singapore Paediatric and Perinatal Annual Congress (SiPPAC 2015) which was held at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, Singapore on 25 July 2015. A total of 210 delegates attended this event.


This year holds special significance for us, as Singapore celebrates 50 years of Independence. The Theme for our Congress was thus aptly named - SG 50: Our Children, Our Future. It was indeed timely for us to take stock of how perinatal medicine and paediatric care had advanced over the last 50 years, to review what some of the current challenges were and where we could continue to focus our attention. For indeed, our children are the future of our nation.


The congress started with the Stuart Gan Lecture - this year by Dr Pamela Lee on  “Disseminated BCG and Susceptibility to Mycobacterial Infections – Implications on BCG Vaccinations”– which sheds light on an important health care issue.  Systematic vaccination and surveillance had significantly reduced invasive and serious tuberculosis in Singapore, but it remained an endemic issue. Advances in immunology and genetics had made us realise that there was more than meets the eye when it comes to mycobacterial infections.


A comprehensive range of topics were also covered in various symposia throughout the day, including sessions for our Nursing Colleagues, Paediatric Trainees and those in General Paediatric Practice. An overwhelming number of abstracts were received this year, and we were glad to have the opportunity to showcase work by students, trainees and colleagues. There was also a session where the best submissions were presented.


The day ended with the Annual Dinner, where Dr Lee Bee Wah delivered the 10th College Lecture: “SG50 : Paediatric Allergy and Immunology – Lesson and Insights”. We trust that all attendees had a good time of learning and fruitful interaction during this Congress. We would like to thank them for being part of it.







Organising Committee
A/Prof Marion Aw
Dr Steven Ng Chin Yuen
Honorary Treasurer
A/Prof Fabian Yap
Ms Elise Toh
A/Prof Anne Goh (Chair)
A/Prof Chan Mei Yoke
Dr Alvin Chang
A/Prof Daniel Goh
Dr Lee Le Ye
Dr Michael Lim
Dr Quek Bin Huey
Prof Victor Samuel Rajadurai
Dr Varsha Atul Shah
Honorary Secretary
Dr Michael Lim
Ms Elise Toh
Sponsors / Exhibition
Dr Alvin Chang (Chair)
A/Prof Anne Goh
Dr Liew Woei Kang
A/Prof Daniel Goh
Ms Rohaya Ithnin
Dr Khoo Poh Choo (Chair)
A/Prof Chan Mei Yoke
Dr Varsha Atul Shah
Ms Faridah Binte Saadon
Abstract / Free Papers Review
Dr Lee Le Ye (Chair)
A/Prof Daniel Goh
Dr Michael Lim
Dr Quek Bin Huey
Nursing Symposia
Ms Lee Ang Noi
Ms Theivanayagi Shanmugham
Ms Lee Soke Yee
Ms Elaine Hor
Ms Audrey Seet Wai Mei


Back To Top